Skip to content
February 6, 2011 / doitinnyc

MIAMI BEACH IN MANHATTAN

A taste of the tropics in NEW YORK

Friday night, the temperature is frozen in Manhattan, spring break is coming, and every student wants the heat of the sun, parties, and beaches! Awaiting holidays, Nikki beach is the place to be to find a taste of the tropics in NY. All these reasons had persuaded my roommate and I to go to this place. First of all, my first impression was “OMG I have the feeling to be in a cabin in front of the beach!” I almost could hear the sound of the waves. The décor was very Miami Beach; featuring an all white décor, vaulted ceilings, bamboo posts and rustic wood tables. Nikki overflows with pillows and beds; it gives you the sensation to live in a cocoon.

Nevertheless, my excitation had quickly changed when I saw the line for the cloakroom. I have never seen that before; a line with between sixty and eighty people. I couldn’t imagine waiting one hour to give my coat. Fortunately for me, I came with a promoter which permitted me to overtake everybody. What is a promoter? It’s the guy who permits you to not pay the entrance, and to drink unlimited alcohol. It’s the best way to have a completely free night, and to be in the best VIP lounge in the city. By talking private space, the second floor VIP room looks down upon the dance floor with a massive glass wall. How you can be in the VIP lounge? It’s easy, you have to pay an annual fee, and you will have a Black card which grants access to the upstairs lounge with private beds and table service. How much you have to pay? Just $5,000 a year….

By the way, how is the music? If you like to RnB and House music, you will be delighted!

Plus, if you want something more peaceful, Nikki Beach is not just a club. In fact, it has a 3-7pm happy hour, Monday through Saturday. The best? You have free tapas with your drinks (even if drinks are always expensive, $11 for a Gin Tonic).

To sum up, a lot of fun, good atmosphere, but not enough space if you haven’t your VIP lounge. Plus, I think the Nikki Beach is better in Miami, I will go there for you during Spring Break!

Nikki Beach – Midtown: 151 East 50th street, NY 10021.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pitiranggon / Feb 14 2011 4:15 pm

    This is interesting, awesome and cool article. She was lucky that had a promoter take her there and I wish I would have a chance to go this winter

    • Flo / Feb 15 2011 3:10 am

      I like the idea to be in a place which reminds of summer holidays ! Must be completely different from other clubs. Nice article, nice description… it gives me the feeling I was there!

Leave a Reply

